DAP Bukit Bendera Community Centre

Address Operation Hours
DAP Bukit Bendera Community Centre
11A Medan Maktab
10250 Pulau PinangTel: 04 228 5298
Fax: 04 229 4294
Email: dap@bukitbendera.org
Monday – Friday (10.00am – 6.00pm)
Saturday (9.00am – 1.00pm)
Closed on Sundays and public holidays.

Parliamentary Officers & Assistants

Theresa Teh
Setiausaha Sulit / Private Secretary
Temu janji / Appointments
04-2285298 / 013-288 5879

Haris Zuan
Setiausaha Politik / Political Secretary
Isu berkaitan dengan Dewan Rakyat dan politik / Issues related to Parliament and politics
013-379 6019

Lennie Khor
Pegawai Seranta Parlimen / Parliamentary Liaison Officer
Isu kawasan / Constituency issues
013-489 5822

Shaik Mohd Rodhi
Pembantu Tadbir / Administrative Assistant
Perkara Am / General Issues
017-552 2481 / 04-2285298

Rozaimin Elias
Pembantu Khas / Special Assistant
Isu am / General Issues

Kevin Khoo
Pembantu Khas / Special Assistant
Isu am dan program kawasan / General issues and constituency programmes

Quah Tze Thoon
Pembantu Khas / Special Assistant
Bencana dan kecemasan / Emergency and Disaster Response
016-555 9297

Local Government Councillors

Chris Lee Chun Kit
Ahli Majlis MBPP / MBPP Councillor
012-519 2152

Syerleena Rashid
Ahli Majlis MBPP / MBPP Councillor
019-225 6502

Joseph Ng
Ahli Majlis MBPP / MBPP Councillor
012-423 9143

A Brief History of the Bukit Bendera Parliamentary Constituency

The Bukit Bendera Parliamentary Constituency is one of 13 parliamentary seats in the state of Penang. It is located in the northern part of Penang Island, covering a large urban area ranging from the beaches of Batu Feringghi to the busy suburban town of Air Itam.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 4.15.46 PM

Figure 1: Map of Penang showing the location of the Bukit Bendera Parliamentary Constituency

Adopting its name from Penang’s famous mountain range, the Bukit Bendera parliamentary constituency has traditionally been a seat that is contested by candidates from the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia (Gerakan). Notable former MPs include DAP’s Peter Paul Dason (1974-1978, 1982-1986) and Gerakan’s Datuk Seri Chia Kwang Chye (1995-2008), who famously defeated DAP leader Lim Kit Siang in 1999.

After three terms, Chia was defeated by Liew Chin Tong from DAP with a majority of 16,112 in the ‘political tsunami’ of the 2008 general election. In the 2013 general election, Liew was succeeded by Zairil Khir Johari, who won by an even larger margin of 32,778 votes to become the youngest member of the 13th Parliament of Malaysia.

Bukit Bendera is also the parliamentary constituency with the most number of state assembly seats in Penang (four), namely Tanjong Bunga (N22), Air Putih (N23), Kebun Bunga (N24) and Pulau Tikus (N25).

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 4.15.59 PM
Figure 2: Demographics of the Bukit Bendera Parliamentary Constituency (Census from 2013 Elections)

The electoral demographics of Bukit Bendera reflect a multi-cultural population. Although ethnic Chinese voters make up the majority with more than 70 per cent, there are significant proportions of ethnic Malay and Indian voters as well, at 14 and 11 per cent respectively.

© 2013-2016 Zairil Khir Johari. All Rights Reserved.
Designed and Implemented by Macrosoft Inc